Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License
Once your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended in Madison County, you are not allowed to drive for any reason, unless you have received prior approval from the proper authorities. If you are found driving while your license is suspended or revoked, you could face fines, jail time, as well as an extended suspension or revocation.
A license suspension or revocation can have a crippling impact on your ability to perform day to day tasks such as going to work, going to the grocery store, or providing transportation for your children. In order to avoid additional penalties or suspension times for driving on a revoked license, contact a Huntsville traffic crimes defense attorney as soon as possible.
Huntsville Driving While License Suspended Defense Lawyer
Andrew and Sandra Segal have been serving clients in court rooms for a combined 40 years and have built a reputation of compassion and dedication towards their clients. If you have been charged with driving on a revoked license in Huntsville, Decatur, Madison County, Jackson County, Morgan County, or the surrounding areas, contact Law Offices Of Segal & Segal today at (256) 533-4529 to set up a free consultation to discuss your legal options.
Alabama Law on Driving While License Revoked or Suspended
- Reasons for Having Your License Suspended or Revoked
- Driving Points and License Suspension in Huntsville
- Penalties for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
When an individual has his or her driver’s license suspended or revoked, the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) will notify you in written form. After you have been formally notified of your license suspension or revocation, you have up to thirty days to surrender your driver’s license to the DPS. There are many reasons why an individual’s driver’s license could be suspended or revoked. These include but are not limited to:
- Habitually committing traffic offenses
- A conviction for vehicular manslaughter
- Being convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI)
- Failing to pay traffic tickets
- Being convicted of leaving the scene of an accident
- A conviction for reckless or careless driving
When your driver’s license is suspended, the DPS temporarily withdraws your license for a given period of time. When it is revoked, the DPS terminates your licenses and you must apply for a new license after a certain period of time in order to be able to legally drive.
Alabama also has a driving point system in place that assesses points to driver’s records for each traffic violation they commit. If an individual accumulates a certain amount of points in a given amount of time, he or she can face a license suspension.
The following points and suspensions are based off a two year time period:
- 12 – 14 points results in a 60-day suspension
- 15 -17 points results in a 90-day suspension
- 18 – 20 points results in a 120-day suspension
- 21 – 23 points results in a 180-day suspension
- 24 or more points results in a 365-day suspension
In some cases individuals who have had their licenses suspended may be eligible to apply for a hardship license that will give them the ability to drive in special circumstances. Contacting a Huntsville defense attorney to gain information on obtaining a hardship license could be beneficial.
According to Alabama Code § 32-6-19, if an individual is convicted of driving with a suspended or revoked license, he or she can be ordered to pay a fine between $100 and $500, and be sentenced to up to 180 days behind bars. In some cases, individuals can also have additional time (up to six months) tacked on to their initial suspension or revocation.
To learn more about your options following an arrest for DWLS in Huntsville, Madison, Decatur, or nearby areas, contact Law Offices Of Segal & Segal by calling (256) 533-4529 today. Your initial consultation is free and can provide you with insight into your defense options.