This is a serious offense that is automatically considered a felony. With felony offenses comes the potential for long prison sentences, and steep fines. In order to avoid having your life derailed by a felony charge, contact an experienced Huntsville domestic violence defense attorney immediately after your arrest.
Domestic Violence by Strangulation Attorney in Madison County
If you have been charged in Huntsville, Decatur, Trinity, Madison, Athens, Jackson County, Limestone County, Madison County, or the surrounding areas , contact The Law Offices of Segal & Segal.
Andrew and Sandra Segal have over 40 years of combined court room experience. Throughout their careers, the Segals have developed proven defense strategies, and have handled numerous family violence cases. They will dedicate your focus towards providing you with the best defense possible. Call Law Offices Of Segal & Segal today at (256) 533-4529 to set up your free consultation.
An Overview of Alabama's Laws on Domestic Violence by Strangulation
- Section 13A-6-138 of the Alabama Code
- What is a Qualified Relationship?
- Penalties for Domestic Violence by Strangulation in Huntsville
Alabama law defines domestic violence as committing a violent act against a person who is a family member, household member, or any other qualified relationship. In many cases, when an individual commits a crime against a family or household member, he or she is punished more harshly than if the same crime was committed against a stranger.
Section 13A-6-138 of the Alabama Code states that an individual can be charged with domestic violence by strangulation if he or she attempts to cause physical harm or fear by intentionally applying pressure to the blood vessels or air passages of the neck, or by blocking or preventing inhalation from the mouth or nose to someone against their will.
In order for this offense to be classified as an act of domestic violence, it must have been committed against someone with whom the alleged offender has a qualified relationship with. A qualified relationship means that the alleged victim is a spouse, former spouse, parent, stepparent, child, stepchild, dating partner, member of the same household, or someone the offender has a child in common with.
In most circumstances, this offense is considered a Class B felony. If convicted, an individual can be ordered to pay a fine of up to $30,000, and sentenced to a minimum of two years in prison and a maximum of 20 years. Many times individuals are arrested without any actual prove of violence or strangulation.
In order to avoid the penalties associated with your alleged offense, consult with a Huntsville defense attorney, who may be able to successfully argue that the charges against you are false or exaggerated. Call (256) 533-4529 or send an online message to request a free consultation with our dedicated legal team.