When you are involved in an car accident in Alabama, whether the accident was your fault or not, it is against the law to leave without fulfilling certain duties. If you leave the scene without fulfilling those duties, you can be charged with serious offense that could result in a loss of your ability to drive, as well as time behind bars.
Being charged with leaving the scene of an accident can be a stressful event. Consulting with a qualified defense attorney who has experienced defending clients charged with serious traffic crimes in Huntsville could help bring some clarity to such a confusing situation.
Huntsville Hit and Run Defense Lawyer
Andrew and Sandra Segal are former Alabama prosecutors who have over 40 years of experience maneuvering in the courtroom. They will analyze the details surrounding your case and pick apart the prosecution's accusations against you. If you are facing charges for allegedly leaving the scene of an accident, contact Law Offices Of Segal & Segal today at (256) 533-4529.
Law Offices Of Segal & Segal serve individuals in and around Huntsville, Decatur, Madison, Athens, Albertville, Jackson County, Madison County, and the surrounding areas. Call us today to schedule your free consultation with a team of qualified defense attorneys.
Alabama's Criminal Code on Leaving the Scene of An Accident
- How Does Alabama Define a Hit and Run?
- What Happens if I Leave the Scene of an Accident in Huntsville?
How Does Alabama Define a Hit and Run?
According to Alabama Code Title 32 Chapter 10, when an individual is involved in a motor vehicle accident in, he or she has a duty to remain at the scene until he or she has given their name, address, insurance information, contact information, and driver's license information to driver of the other vehicle or to a law enforcement officer.
If the other person suffered an injury, the driver must provide reasonable assistance, or make arrangements for the transportation of the injured party to receive medical treatment. Individuals involved in accidents are also required to report the accident to the police, sheriff, or highway patrol.
What Happens if I Leave the Scene of an Accident in Huntsville?
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Madison County usually depend on whether or not someone suffered injury or death in the accident. If an individual fled from the scene of an accident where no one was injured, he or she can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to a year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $6,000.
On the other hand, if someone suffered injury or death in an automobile accident, and a driver fled from the scene, he or she can be charged with a Class C felony. If convicted of this offense, the offender can face between one and 10 years in prison, and possible $15,000 fine.
Aside from the penalties mentioned above, if a driver leaves the scene of an accident, he or she can also be subjected to a license revocation, probation, restitution payments, court costs, and other penalties.
If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident, it is important to take the accusations against you seriously by contacting a Madison County traffic crimes attorney as soon as possible.